Facts about the state of Florida

State Flag :

State flower :

Orange Blossom

State Bird :

Mocking Bird

State Tree :

Sabel Palmetto Palm


State Motto :

In God We Trust

  • Florida entered the Union on March 3, 1845, as the 27th state.
  • Tallahassee, in the panhandle, is Florida's capital.
  • The Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de Le called the region La Florida, roughly translated as Land of the Flowers.
  • Floridas official nickname is "the sunshine state.
  • Florida was separated into two sections at one time , East Florida and West Florida, and Pensacola was the capital of West Florida and St. Augustine was the capital of East Florida

Think you Know Alot about the States Try this Quiz
States-Mania Makes learning our fifty states fun!

Search for facts and trivia