John Blow

Ode on the death of Mr Henry Purcell

Phillips 657016

Track listing

  1. Ode on the death of Mr Henry Purcell

Songs from Amphion Anglicus

  1. Cloe found Amintas lying all in tears
  2. Why weep Asteria?
  3. Shepherds deck your crooks
  4. Ah Heav'n! What is't I hear?
  5. Epilogue: Sing, sing ye muses


Nobuko Yamamoto and Nelly Van der Speek (Sopranos) James Bowman and René Jacobs (Countertenors) Marius van Altena (Tenor) Max Van Egmond (Bass)

Marie Leonhardt and Antoinette van den Hombergh (violins) Anner Bylsma (Cello) Gustav Leonhardt (Harpsichord)

TT 48:35

Recording - Doopsgezinde Kerk, Amsterdam, Netherlands ; 1973

Jane Pattle
Last Updated 30 October 1997