Sam Black Memorial Blitz

When its ex-chairman, Professor Sam Black, died in 1999, the League decided to hold a tournament in his memory. This grew and eventually became the annual North London Individual Blitz Championship. The first event was played over 10 rounds, but, subsequent tournaments have been played over 6 double-game rounds.
From the 11th event it has been renamed the Sam Black Memorial Blitz
For full details of each tournament click on the year.

1999 Mike Tasker
2000 Paul Georghiou
2001 IM Alexander Cherniaev
2002 Jochen Wittmann
2003 IM Alexander Cherniaev
2004 IM Colin Crouch
2005 Not held
2006 GM Alexander Cherniaev
2007 Paul Georghiou
2008Peter Poobalasingam
2009GM Alexander Cherniaev
2010Paul Georghiou
2011GM Gawain Jones & Paul Georghiou
2012IM Thomas Rendle