Makem Results page

First game of the season

Chelsea 4 Sunderland 0

These are the actual comments that were written by Sunderland fans at the game as printed in the North East Journal, (If you don't believe me buy the paper...)

 Rob Mason, South Hetton

I start with one question for Peter Reid ,Why was Helmer not playing? Our mid field was a nonentity. We lacked class and skill which are the two qualities needed if we are to survive in the premiership . We could not string two passes together and resorted to long ball tactics to Niall Quinn without threatening the Chelsea defence

Vince Price , Morpeth

To paraphrase Lee Clark, This sad makem man is indeed very sad and downhearted. We lacked a gameplan and were overwhelmed all over the park. The service to the front men was non existent. For Sorenson our best man, it was a case of heroes and villains. Overall we were second best. It now looks like a long gruelling season .Tradesmen verses apprentices.

Margaret Bywater Washington

Thank goodness we don't play Chelsea every week, they were awesome. The scoreline was disappointing but we were totally outclassed.

Robert Gilchrest Hetton le hole

Welcome to the premiership sang the Chelsea supporters. The decision to leave Thomas Helmer on the bench was baffling given the quality of the opposition but Chelsea were irresistible. The traveling fans were magnificent but those who left after the forth game, your actions were disgraceful and you should be truly ashamed.

Ray Robinson, Hebburn

As Sunderland entered the brave new world of the premiership, we wondered whether Peter Reid had indeed learned anything from his own self confessed "Dropped Bollocks". Saturdays team selection suggests perhaps not. In a match billed as a potential banana skin for Chelsea ,Sunderland were about as slippery as contact adhesive. The sublime fluidity of a side oozing class proved irresistible against a lop sidedand pedestrian Sunderland,who tellingly interchanged three players out of position wide left.

Mark Simpson Peterlee.

I was hoping we could get a draw from this testing opener. However the way Chelsea performed left me gratefulthey only scored four .Chelsea looked capable of carving open our defence at will and I think they were lenient with us.

David Pearse Ponteland

I must be one of Sunderland's more naively optimistic followers. I once again believed and wanted to believe all the pre seasonhype and talk of mid season respectability. I really should know better after 30 years.We were out classed, out passed,out thought, even out fought. When we got the ball, we gave it away. This was a shock to the system.

Stephen Dean , Jarrow

Reid could underestimate the backlash which will ensue if he fails to deliver in the coming weeks. If he picks players like McCann and Dichio in the premiership , he is leaving himself wide open to criticism. I would like Sunderlandto show some ambition and sign FLO

 (hahahahahahahaha would he or any good player ever sign for Sunderland. With Reid never likely to splash out more than 3 or 4 million for a player, and never likely to pay decent wages, you must be dreaming if you ever think Sunderland can get quality players. If you pay peanuts, you get Monkey....heeds...ED?)

 

  Before the season started I ran these fixtures through the Soccer- Uk predictor scope, and this is what came up. Home games in maKem brown, Away games in makem RED

Date

Opponent

Web Sites

How to Get there

ACTUAL SCORE

Safc/ opp

Score PREDICTED

Safc/ opp

Wed 14 July 7pm

Odense

Official

A Boat (stowaway)

?

3-2

Sun 18 July 3pm

Vejle

Official

A bus from Odense, use that forged tenner.

?

4-1

Wed 21 July 7.45pm

Rangers

Official

Hitch a lift

?

0-3

Sun 25 July 12.00 noon

Burnley

1-Official
2-Fans

Steal a car from Washington

?

2-0

Tue 27 July 7.45pm

Halifax

Fans

Hire a mini bus using that stolen Driving licence and C Card

?

4-1

Thu 29 July 7.45pm

Preston NE

1-Official
2-Fans

Steal your Grandads Car

?

3-0

Sat 31 July 3pm

Sampdoria

Official

At the S / shite

?

0-5

Sat 7 Aug

Chelsea

Official

Train, stolen wallet money

0 - 4

0 - 2

Tue 10 Aug

Watford

-

At the S / Shite

-

1 - 1

Sat 14 Aug

Arsenal

1-Official
2-Fans

At the S / Shite

-

0 - 4

Sat 21 Aug

Leeds

-

Hitch

-

0 - 3

Wed 25 Aug

Newcastle

-

Walk

-

0 - 11

Sat 28 Aug

Coventry

-

At the S/ shite

-

0-0

Sat 11 Sep

Leicester

-

At the S/shite

-

0-1

Wed 15 Sep

Worthington Cup (2)

-

?

-

-

Sat 18 Sep

Derby

-

Hitch-

-

0-2

Wed 22 Sep

Worthington Cup (2)

-

-

-

-

Sat 25 Sep

Sheff Wed

-

At the S/ shite

-

2-1

Sat 2 Oct

Bradford

-

Push bike

-

0-0

Wed 13 Oct

Worthington Cup (3)

-

?

-

-

Sat 16 Oct

A. Villa

-

At the S / Shite

-

0-2

Sat 23 Oct

West Ham

-

Watch in on the Tv

-

0-0

Sat 30 Oct

Spurs

-

At the S/ Shite

-

0-3

Sat 6 Nov

Middlesbrough

-

Walk

-

2-1

Sat 20 Nov

Liverpool

-

At the S/ Shite

-

0-4

Sat 27 Nov

Watford

-

Borrow your Aunt's motorbike

-

1-2

Wed 1 Dec

Worthington Cup (4)

-

?

-

-

Sat 4 Dec

Chelsea

Official

At the S / Shite

-

0-7

Sat 11 Dec

FA Cup (3)

-

?

-

-

Wed 15 Dec

Worthington Cup (5)

-

-?

-

-

Sat 18 Dec

Southampton

-

At the S/ Shite

-

1-0

Sun 26 Dec

Everton

-

Nick a bus from the arriva depot

-

0-2

Tue 28 Dec

Man United

-

At the S/ Shite

-

0-7

Mon 3 Jan

Wimbledon

-

train, Who needs a ticket?

-

0-5

Sat 8 Jan

FA Cup (4)

-

?

-

-

Sat 15 Jan

Arsenal

-

Stay the week to save money

-

0-7

Sat 22 Jan

Leeds

-

At the S / Shite

-

0-4

Sat 29 Jan

FA Cup (5)

-

?

-

-

Sat 5 Feb

Newcastle

-

At the S/ Shite (don't go it'll only make you suicidal)

-

0-12

Sat 12 Feb

Coventry

-

Away game.See Above

-

0-2

Sat 19 Feb

FA Cup (6)

-

?

-

-

Sat 26 Feb

Derby

-

At the S/ Shite

-

1-5

Sat 4 Mar

Leicester

-

Borrow your dads reliant Robin

-

1-3

Sat 11 Mar

Liverpool

-

Ditto

-

0-9

Sat 18 Mar

Middlesbrough

-

At the S/ Shite

-

2-1

yes a win

Sat 25 Mar

Everton

-

At the S/shite

-

0-4

shit back to normal

Sat 1 Apr

Southampton

-

Not going all that way

-

2-6

Sat 8 Apr

Wimbledon

-

At the S/ light, did not attend

-

0-9

Sat 15 Apr

Man United

-

-Bollocks to this i am gonna suport man u

-

0 - 1

Sat 22 Apr

Sheff. Wed

-

I don't give a damn, I am a man U fan

-

2-3

Mon 24 Apr

Bradford

-

At the S/ Shite

-

3-2

Sat 29 Apr

A. Villa

-

Glory Glory man united

-

4- 3

Sat 6 May

West Ham

-

Ok I'll give em another season

at the S / Shite

-

1- 2

Sat 14 May

Spurs

-

At least next year we'll win a few more games.

-

0-5